Deadly Sins

Wine 7 Deadly Sins

Wine 7 deadly sins is a full-bodied, complex Old Vine Zinfandel from seven specific vineyards in Lodi. This ripe, jammy wine is made in the fruity, robust style that has become America’s favorite Zinfandel.

It’s not in the Bible, but the concept of the seven deadly sins has influenced the world for centuries. The list includes pride, envy, greed, lust, sloth and wrath.

Sin 1: Lust

Lust is a passion for sensual pleasures. It is a powerful temptation to the flesh that leads to immorality and destroys true connections with others.

In the Confessions, St. Augustine of Hippo describes his struggle with lust and how it divided his will between the carnal and spiritual worlds. It was his desire for a life of chastity that led him to read Paul’s writings, and ultimately find salvation.

7 Deadly Zins Old Vine Zinfandel is seductive with loads of jammy berry fruit and aromas of leather and spice. It is round and layered with complex flavors of dark fruits, currants and toffee through a lingering spicy finish.

Sin 2: Greed

Greed has put countless people out on the street and given many a false sense of power (think Gordon Gekko). It’s a sin that is aptly represented by this wine, which is rich and luscious.

This wine sprang from the creative souls at Michael David Winery, which is known for premium quality wines and clever, eye-catching labels. It was crafted from Old Vine Zinfandel grown in the Lodi appellation by brothers Michael and David Phillips. They related the Seven Deadly Sins from their Catholic school upbringing to the seven certified sustainable old vine zinfandels blended into the wine.

Sin 3: Sloth

London-based designer Kacper Hamilton has created a set of wine glasses inspired by the seven deadly sins. Each glass embodies a different vice and is displayed in its own sarcophagus-like case, made of mahogany wood and brass fittings, reports Dezeen.

The Lust glass has a tap at the bottom so the wine can only trickle out, representing lust’s inability to be satisfied. The envy glass has a unique shape that prevents the drinker from getting what they want, just like the temptation to steal a sip of another person’s wine.

Sin 4: Wrath

In the beginning, God created the wine and gave it to Adam and Eve as a blessing. He commanded that we use it for medicinal purposes and to eat with our meals. Jesus drank wine at the wedding in Cana and we know that the early Christians also did. It is not the drinking of wine that is a sin but rather it is how we act when we drink that is the issue.

This Old Vine Zinfandel is full bodied and seductive. It has jammy berry fruit and milk chocolate notes on the palate with a lingering spice touch.

Sin 5: Gluttony

Gluttony is overindulgence and excessive greed for food. This includes food or drink that is not good for one’s health, such as fatty foods and sweets. It also includes an obsession with food that takes away from time spent in worship or fellowship.

People whose lives revolve around eating and drinking may not even realize they have made food an idol. But it’s a dangerous thing to do, and it often leads to poor health, obesity and other physical problems.

The Bible calls gluttony a “deadly sin.” The path of those who indulge in food or wine is a road to ruin. This is because they reject the fruit of the Spirit — self-control.

Sin 6: Envy

Envy is a feeling of resentment and jealousy of someone else’s possessions or attainments. It’s often seen as a sin of vanity and greed but can also be a form of hatred or hostility.

Released in 2002, this wine grew out of the imagination of Michael and David Phillips (who blame their Catholic school upbringing). They chose seven specific Old Vine Zinfandels from Lodi to be blended into this hedonistically seductive wine.

This wine is full-bodied with complex flavors of jammy dark fruit, currants and toffee. Pairs well with garlic herb lamb chops.

Sin 7: Sloth

A full-bodied, complex Old Vine Zinfandel from seven certified sustainable vineyards in Lodi. This wine is rich in dark fruit and toffee with exotic spice notes. Pairs well with garlic herb lamb chops.

Young London-based designer Kacper Hamilton designed a set of seven wine glasses that are inspired by the Seven Deadly Sins: lust, greed, sloth, wrath, envy and pride. The wine glasses are presented in a mahogany case that looks like a sarcophagus. Check them out over at Dezeen.

Circle back to the home page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *